Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, contests and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Raptor rehab centers in the U.S. and Canada

Raptor rehab centers
A Golden Eagle perches inside the Audrey Steele Burnand Flight Aviary at San Diego Humane Society’s Ramona Wildlife Center. The bird was found in August 2017 weak, emaciated, and not flying, and it later tested positive for West Nile virus. After months of treatment, followed by strength and flight training, it was released into the wild near where it was found. Photo courtesy San Diego Humane Society

Below is a list of more than 150 raptor rehab centers and general wildlife centers that rehabilitate birds of prey in the United States and Canada, along with their locations and web addresses. Many welcome visitors, but due to the changeable situation with COVID-19, please call ahead or check online to see if your local raptor center is open.

Most wildlife rehab organizations rely on volunteers, interns, or both to assist professional staff with the care, feeding, and transportation of animals. If you’re looking for a meaningful volunteer opportunity or internship with wildlife, look up a center near you. These organizations typically operate on shoestring budgets, so if you can donate to one or more, we’re sure they’d be grateful. 

Please note that this list does not include the hundreds of individual rehabbers who are licensed to care for raptors (and often other species) on their own, not as part of a nonprofit organization. The websites of state and provincial fish and wildlife agencies typically list independent rehabbers who are licensed within their jurisdictions along with their contact information.

Lastly, the organizations listed here all provide rehab services for birds of prey, and they may or may not offer educational programs featuring raptors or other animals. This list doesn’t include organizations that only provide educational services featuring non-releasable raptors.

ALABAMA

Alabama Wildlife Center, Pelham, alabamawildlifecenter.org

Big Bend Wildlife Center, Enterprise, bigbendwildlife.com

Southeastern Raptor Center, Auburn, vetmed.auburn.edu/raptor/rehabilitation

ALASKA

Alaska Raptor Center, Sitka, alaskaraptor.org

Alaska WildBird Rehabilitation Center, Big Lake, akwildbird.org

Bird TLC, Anchorage, birdtreatment.squarespace.com

Juneau Raptor Center, Juneau, juneauraptorcenter.org

ALBERTA

Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation, Coaldale, burrowingowl.com

Alberta Society for Injured Birds of Prey, Sherwood Park, raptorshelter.org

Calgary Wildlife Rehabilitation Society, Calgary, calgarywildlife.org

Wildlife Rehabilitation Society of Edmonton, Edmonton, www.wildlife-edm.ca

ARIZONA

Arizona Raptor Center, Phoenix, arizonaraptorcenter.org

Tucson Wildlife Center, Tucson, tucsonwildlife.com

White Mountain Nature Center, Pinetop, whitemountainnaturecenter.org

Wild at Heart, Cave Creek, wildatheartraptors.org

ARKANSAS

Morning Star Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, Gravette, nwarkaudubon.org/morning-star.html

Raptor Rehab of Central Arkansas, El Paso, rrca-raptors.org

BRITISH COLUMBIA

MARS Wildlife Rescue Centre, Merville, marswildliferescue.com

OWL (Orphaned Wildlife) Rehabilitation, Delta, owlrehab.org

SORCO Raptor Rehab, Oliver, sorco.org

CALIFORNIA

California Raptor Center, Davis, crc.vetmed.ucdavis.edu

Defiance Canyon Raptor Rescue Center, Manton, facebook.com/defiancecanyonraptor

Ojai Raptor Center, Oak View, ojairaptorcenter.org

Ramona Wildlife Center, San Diego, sdhumane.org

Sky Hunters, Lakeside, skyhunters.org

Wild Wings of California, Los Angeles, wildwings.org

COLORADO

Birds of Prey Foundation, Broomfield, birds-of-prey.org

Nature and Wildlife Discovery Center, Beulah, hikeandlearn.org

Nature’s Educators, Sedalia, natureseducators.org

Rocky Mountain Raptor Program, Fort Collins, rmrp.org

CONNECTICUT

A Place Called Hope, Killingworth, aplacecalledhoperaptors.com

Horizon Wings, Ashford, horizonwings.net

Sharon Audubon Center, Sharon, sharon.audubon.org/wildlife-rehabilitation-clinic

DELAWARE

Tri-State Bird Rescue & Research, Newark, tristatebird.org

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

City Wildlife, Washington, citywildlife.org

FLORIDA

Audubon Center for Birds of Prey, Maitland, cbop.audubon.org

Avian Reconditioning Center, Apopka, arc4raptors.org

Conservancy of Southwest Florida Nature Center, Naples, conservancy.org

CROW, Sanibel Island, crowclinic.org

Peace River Wildlife Center, Punta Gordo, prwildlife.org

Wildlife Sanctuary of Northwest Florida, Pensacola, pensacolawildlife.com

GEORGIA

AWARE Wildlife Center, Lithonia, awarewildlife.org

Chattahoochee Nature Center, Roswell, chattnaturecenter.org

Hawk Talk, Canton, hawktalk.org

HAWAI‘I

Hawai‘i Wildlife Center, Kapa‘au, hawaiiwildlifecenter.org

IDAHO

Birds of Prey Northwest, Coeur d’Alene, birdsofpreynorthwest.org

Sawtooth Raptor Sanctuary, Star, sawtoothraptorsanctuary.com

ILLINOIS

Illinois Raptor Center, Decatur, illinoisraptorcenter.org

Raptor Rehabilitation Center, Quincy, facebook.com/RaptorRehabilitationCenter

INDIANA

Indiana Raptor Center, Nashville, indianaraptorcenter.com

Soarin’ Hawk Raptor Rehabilitation Center, Fort Wayne, soarinhawk.org

IOWA

Black Hawk Wildlife Rehabilitation Project, Black Hawk County, blackhawkwildliferehab.com

RARE (Raptor Advocacy Research and Education) Group, Iowa City, theraregroup.org

SOAR (Saving Our Avian Resources), Dedham, soarraptors.org

KANSAS

Eagle Valley Raptor Center, Cheney, eaglevalleyraptorcenter.org

Great Bend Raptor Center, Great Bend, greatbendks.net/97/Raptor-Center

KENTUCKY

Liberty Nature Center, Somerset, libertynaturecenter.org

RROKI (Raptor Rehabilitation of Kentucky, Inc.), Louisville, raptorrehab.org

Nurture to Nature Wildlife Rehabilitation Center and Western Kentucky Raptor Center, Owensboro, nurturetonature.org

LOUISIANA

Wildlife Hospital of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, facebook.com/lsuwildlife

MAINE

Acadia Wildlife Center, Bar Harbor, acadiawildlife.org

Avian Haven Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center, Freedom, avianhaven.org

Center for Wildlife, Cape Neddick, thecenterforwildlife.org

MANITOBA

Prairie Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, Winnipeg, pwildlife.ca

Wildlife Haven Rehabilitation Centre, Île des Chênes, wildlifehaven.ca

MARYLAND

Owl Moon Raptor Center, Boyds, owlmoon.org

MASSACHUSETTS

Massachusetts Raptor Center, Taunton, massraptorcenter.org

New England Wildlife Center, South Weymouth, newildlife.org

Wingmasters, Leverett, wingmasters.net

MICHIGAN

Chocolay Raptor Center, Marquette, facebook.com/ChoclayRaptorCenter

Migizi Eagle Aviary and Rehabilitation Center, Harbor Springs, wingsofwonder.org

North Sky Raptor Sanctuary, Grand Traverse County, northskyraptor.org

Riverside Wildlife Rehabilitation, Mendon, facebook.com/riversidewildliferehabilatation

Wildlife Recovery Association, Shepherd, wildliferecovery.org

MINNESOTA

The Raptor Center, St. Paul, raptor.umn.edu

MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi Wildlife Rehabilitation, Inc., Lake Cormorant, mswildliferehab.com

Wildlife Care and Rescue Center, Biloxi, wildlifecareandrescuecenter.org

MISSOURI

Raptor Rehabilitation Project, Columbia, raptorrehab.cvm.missouri.edu

World Bird Sanctuary, Valley Park, worldbirdsanctuary.org

MONTANA

Montana Raptor Conservation Center, Bozeman, montanaraptor.org

NEBRASKA

Raptor Conservation Alliance, facebook.com/RCAbirdsorg-104307125010222/

NEW BRUNSWICK

Atlantic Wildlife Institute, Cookville, atlanticwildlife.ca

NEW JERSEY

Avian Wildlife Center, Wantage, avianwildlifecenter.org

Cedar Run Wildlife Refuge, Medford, cedarrun.org

Mercer County Wildlife Center, Titusville, wildlifecenterfriends.org

Raptor Trust, Millington, theraptortrust.org

NEW MEXICO

Sante Fe Raptor Center, Sante Fe, santaferaptorcenter.org

Wildlife Rescue, Inc. of New Mexico, Albuquerque, wildliferescuenm.org

NEW YORK

Evelyn Alexander Wildlife Rescue Center, Hampton Bays, wildliferescuecenter.org

Hawk Creek Wildlife Center, West Falls, hawkcreek.org

Kindred Kingdoms Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, Pennellville, kindredkingdoms.com

North Country Wild Care, Lake George, northcountrywildcare.org

Ravensbeard Wildlife Center, Saugerties, ravensbeard.org

Volunteers for Wildlife, Locust Valley, volunteersforwildlife.org

Wild Bird Fund, New York City, wildbirdfund.org

Wild Kritters of Niagara County, Sanborn, wildkritters.com

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

Salmonier Nature Park, Holyrood, facebook.com/salmoniernaturepark2018

NORTH CAROLINA

Cape Fear Raptor Center, Rocky Point, capefearraptorcenter.org

Carolina Raptor Center, Huntersville, carolinaraptorcenter.org

NORTH DAKOTA

Dakota Zoo, Bismarck, dakotazoo.org

NOVA SCOTIA

Hope for Wildlife, Seaforth, hopeforwildlife.net

OHIO

Glen Helen Raptor Center, Yellow Springs, glenhelen.org

Medina Raptor Center, Spencer, medinaraptorcenter.org

Ohio Bird Sanctuary, Mansfield, ohiobirdsanctuary.com

Raptor Inc., Milford, raptorinc.org

OKLAHOMA

Grey Snow Eagle House, Perkins, eagles.iowanation.org

ONTARIO

Bluewater Centre for Raptor Rehabilitation, Plympton-Wyoming, raptorrehabilitation.com

Canadian Raptor Conservancy, Vittoria, canadianraptorconservancy.com

Erie Wildlife Rescue, Windsor, eriewildliferescue.ca

Ottawa Valley Wild Bird Care Centre, Ottawa, wildbirdcarecentre.org

Salthaven Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, Mount Brydges, salthaven.org

The Owl Foundation, Vineland Station, theowlfoundation.ca

Toronto Wildlife Centre, Toronto, torontowildlifecentre.com

OREGON

American Wildlife Foundation, Molalla, www.awildfound.org/About.html

Badger Run Wildlife Rehab, Klamath Falls, www.badgerrun.org

Blue Mountain Wildlife, Pendleton, bluemountainwildlife.org

Cascades Raptor Center, Eugene, cascadesraptorcenter.org

Chintimini Wildlife Center, Corvallis, chintiminiwildlife.org

Portland Audubon Wildlife Care Center, Portland, audubonportland.org/our-work/rehabilitate-wildlife/wildlife-care-center

Rowena Wildlife Clinic, The Dalles, www.rowenawildlifeclinic.org

Think Wild, Bend, www.thinkwildco.org

Turtle Ridge Wildlife Center, Salem, turtleridgewildlifecenter.org

Umpqua Wildlife Rescue, Roseburg, www.umpquawildliferescue.org

Wildlife Center of the North Coast, Astoria, www.coastwildlife.org

Wildlife Images Rehabilitation and Education Center, Grants Pass, wildlifeimages.org

PENNSYLVANIA

Delaware Valley Raptor Center, Milford, dvrconline.org

Skye’s Spirit Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, Harrisville, skyes-spirit.com

Windy Ridge Wildlife Refuge, Inc., Acme, wildliferefugeinc.com

RHODE ISLAND

Born to be Wild Nature Center, Bradford, hawkri.org

SASKATCHEWAN

Salthaven Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, Regina, salthaven.org/salthaven-west

Wildlife Rehabilitation Society of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, wrsos.org

SOUTH CAROLINA

Center for Birds of Prey, Awendaw, thecenterforbirdsofprey.org

SOUTH DAKOTA

Black Hills Raptor Center, Rapid City, blackhillsraptorcenter.org

TENNESSEE

American Eagle Foundation, Pigeon Forge, eagles.org

Mid-South Raptor Center, Memphis, midsouthraptorcenter.com

TEXAS

Blackland Prairie Raptor Center, Lucas, bpraptorcenter.org

Gulf Coast Wildlife Rescue, Angleton, gcwr.org

Last Chance Forever, San Antonio, lastchanceforever.org

Lone Star Wildlife Rescue, Bellville, lonestarwildlife.org

Wildlife Rescue & Rehabilitation, Kendalia, wildlife-rescue.org

UTAH

Wildlife Rehabilitation Center of Northern Utah, Ogden, wrcnu.org

VERMONT

VINS Nature Center, Quechee, vinsweb.org

VIRGINIA

Blue Ridge Wildlife Center, Millwood, blueridgewildlifectr.org

Wildlife Center of Virginia, Waynesboro, wildlifecenter.org

WASHINGTON

Northwest Raptor & Wildlife Center, Sequim, nwraptorcenter.com

Sardis Raptor Center, Ferndale, facebook.com/SardisRaptor

WEST VIRGINIA

Three Rivers Avian Center, Hinton, tracwv.org

West Virginia Raptor Rehabilitation Center, Fairmont, wvrrc.org

WISCONSIN

Coulee Region Humane Society, Onalaska, couleehumane.com

Dane County Humane Society’s Wildlife Center, Madison, giveshelter.org/wildlife-center

Fellow Mortals Wildlife Hospital, Lake Geneva, fellowmortals.org

Northwoods Wildlife Center, Minocqua, northwoodswildlifecenter.org

Raptor Education Group, Antigo, www.raptoreducationgroup.org

Wild Instincts, Rhinelander, wildinstinctsrehab.com

Wisconsin Humane Society Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, Milwaukee, wihumane.org/wildlife

WYOMING

Ironside Bird Rescue, Cody, www.facebook.com/ironsidebirdrescueinc

Teton Raptor Center, Wilson, tetonraptorcenter.org

YUKON

Yukon Wildlife Preserve, Whitehorse, yukonwildlife.ca

If we missed a raptor or wildlife center, please email us about it at [email protected], and we’ll add it to this list.

The heroic work of raptor centers in North America

Bird 911: What to do in a wildlife emergency

Read our newsletter!

Sign up for our free e-newsletter to receive news, photos of birds, attracting and ID tips, and more delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up for Free